Go Back   Old Project Avalon Forum (ARCHIVE) > Project Avalon Forum > Project Avalon > Preparations / Advice

Notices

Old 11-25-2008, 04:35 AM   #1
Baggywrinkle

Default Alternatives to Storing Wheat

Alternatives to Storing Wheat

Greetings Mrs. Deyo,

My reason for this correspondence is about a remark you made while on Mr. Quayle's program concerning wheat or gluten allergies which people should be aware of in their food provisions.

I have been healing from food allergies for several years, since God finally opened my eyes to the reason I was not feeling so well. I came across last year a number of alternative grains to wheat which might be an addition to your reservoir of knowledge in helping people.

The grain I utilize now in a mix or by itself is called spelt. It is an ancient hulled wheat, that for me and many people has been a welcome wheat substitute in being low gluten and just enough difference genetically to "fool" the body.

Ohio produces most of this grain and it is sweet with a slight nutty flavor. There are both white and brown flours available. I can only relate that the brown is moister and a bit crumbly when baked in bars and cakes.

Another wheat is Kamut or Pharaoh wheat which was discovered in a tomb in Egypt is supposed to be excellent. It's unavailable here, but grown in Montana.

I have tried millet flour, but it is horrid in being strong and ruins whatever it is in. Molasses is the only thing I have found which will hide it.

Strangely, hulled millet boiled as a breakfast cereal or in salads is actually very good though, it just is not palatable in bread.

Another grain which I have used boiled is quinoa pronounced Keen Wah. It has to be washed before boiling as it has a bitter soapy film on it. It's crunchy and a lot better than oatmeal and I have not had problems with meal worms.

In that light, while rye flour can be strong, rolled rye is very good when made like oatmeal or in cookies.