Go Back   Old Project Avalon Forum (ARCHIVE) > Project Avalon Forum > Project Avalon > Spirituality

Notices

Old 03-07-2010, 09:11 PM   #1
MargueriteBee
Avalon Senior Member

Default Service To Others

Just how far do we go in service to others. Maybe I''m in victim mode here but I am feeling used. Where and what is the line from service to others and being used? I would really appreciate your thoughts as I am new to spiritual stuff.

Edit: I could be any situation, not just my personal one.
MargueriteBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 09:18 PM   #2
gita
Avalon Senior Member

Default Re: Service To Others

There does seem to be a fine line between being helpful and being used as a doormat. My rule of thumb these days is to only help people that ask for it and to make it as ‘quick’ as possible in a way that empowers the other person so that they do not become dependent upon any continuous help. I find the best way to ‘help’ people is to be an example in the kind of person you are. Hope this helps.
gita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 09:23 PM   #3
dddanieljjjamesss
Avalon Senior Member

If you feel used, that may be a good indicator - the line being crossed - that your service to others has become a crutch for them. Just beware that it isn't your Ego expectations of how you think people should respond to your kindness.
dddanieljjjamesss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 09:23 PM   #4
xbusymom
Avalon Senior Member

it is easy to get in that predicament when you have a generous heart... I am in the same kind of thing (or was- well, I still am there but moving out of victim mode quickly)...

here's what I did to re-start setting boundaries for myself, and it made a huge difference in how I felt about not being used and abused by others I tried to help...

Resolutions for Fair-Trade Assistance:
1. promote self-sufficiency for all
2. by giving fair-trade assistance